The flight

Let me preface all this by saying 1) I don’t think I’ve ever been contained in such a small space for such a long time at any point in my life and 2) opulence makes me uncomfortable.

By the generousness of my company, I was allowed to travel Business class on my United Airlines flight from Chicago to Hong Kong. Because this flight was delayed 3 hours, I was afforded the opportunity to see how the other side lives.

Enter United Club Lounge. Witness free coffe, tea, cappucinos. See cheese crackers, chocolate and yogurt covered raisins, individually packaged cheese and crackers, small packages of baby carrots. Wall Street Journals, iPhones, and smart-looking suits abound.

Suddenly, I’m hungry. And rather uneasy in my yoga pants and REI blouse. But the temptation of free goodies is too much to bear, and in the end, I ignore the judging eyes of the unhappy businessmen and eat WAY more chocolate covered raisins than anyone ought to.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

After flashing my far too expensive ticket, I cut the line of people waiting to board, tromp upstairs to the small upper deck right behind the captain’s cabin and take my seat. Three glasses of 2009 Spanish Albariño and a small porcelain bowl full of warm cashews later, I’m feeling a lot less uncomfortable about this whole being pampered thing. The warm, moist towelette delivered to me by a pair of silver, polished tongs (no joke) only made me hesitate for a second.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

3.5 hours into the flight:

With Fine Frenzy’s new song “Now is the Start” resonating above the whir of the jet engines, I smile to myself. This adventure is about to begin, and I am ready for it.

I have weathered a tent for 3 months. I have laughed, loved, lost, and learned (and any other l words that describe Life). I have trained, and I have succeeded. And most recently, I have found myself engaged in a new pursuit- becoming an adept and shrewd business woman. Cook Medical, thank you for giving me the chance to continue to learn, to figure out how to help you reach more patients, and to discover the world in a bigger way than I ever thought I’d be able to.

Bring it on.

4.5 hours into the flight:

Imagining 10 more hours in variations of the seated position, I can now understand the proliferation of DVTs. Should have invested in those compression tights….

The yawns are becoming more frequent, and in the darkness of the cabin, I struggle to pretend it’s nearly 10 am and not the 10pm my body is used to.

…..10 minutes later: People nap at 10 am right?

….5 minutes later: Is dancing in the aisles an inappropriate way to stay awake? Abs? Pushups?

…20 minutes later: I would be seated next to a sleep farter.

…5 minutes later: “Like ships in the night” plays on my iTunes…marathon hurt, but I’d give a lot to be able to run right now…or to sing along. Apart from that, there’s something to be said about the correlation between trapping someone in a small space and productivity. Excepting sleep deprivation, focus is much more targeted…

4 hours later:

…So much for staying awake for most of the flight. Whoops.

Next: Sit in the aisle. Stretch. Eat crunchy, crispy apple while walking up and down the aisle and up and down the stairs many, many times.

Next: Give in to the entrapment. Watch The Social Network.

Finally, land, discover lost luggage, taxi to apartment, prepare for first day of work.

25 hours. Spent.

Leave a comment